I Used to Love My Mega-Church — Now I’m Seeing Things Were a Little Off

Jess
4 min readFeb 28, 2023

What the church got wrong

Photo by Edwin Andrade on Unsplash

I grew up in a tiny Assemblies of God church. 100–200 people filled the pews throughout two services each Sunday, and to me that was normal.

When I was 19, I moved out of state to go to Bible college, and I joined a mega-church for the first time.

I was awestruck.

One of my favorite worship artists was a regular attendee, and every service was like a personal concert. I was right where I wanted to be, living my best life, or so I thought.

I was being pumped full of 30-minute sermons that inspired me to get into my bible, but after coming out and moving back home, I’m realizing things weren’t what they seemed in my posh, ‘blessed’ church.

I won’t name names, but…

If you’re in the know about modern churches, pastors, and happenings throughout America, I guarantee you know this church. Let’s just say, the pastor promised ‘the blessed life’ if you put your money where his pocket was.

At the time, I didn’t see it that way. I idolized these leaders. I was on the worship team, and I was learning like crazy.

Looking back, a few things stand out.

--

--

Jess

I write whatever comes to mind| Founding editor of The Author's Lounge| I like puppies and sunshine|